top of page
Search

Vegan Meatballs In Marina Sauce

As a kid my mom used to make so many meatballs through the week, as that is super traditional dutch food - potatoes, meat, vegetables - So since I'm not really in to meat anymore, I haven't had meatballs for a very very long time, so making them myself was a really big adventure.



So for NG-Day, Naturally granola day, (15th of July) I wanted to make a special dish instead of just a smoothie bowl. Talking with Tiara from Naturally Granola gave me this insane idea to make vegan meatballs. Swap the breadcrumbs for granola and the egg you use for a Vegan egg, that's it! I'll stop talking and give you the recipe right here!


 

For the Meatballs:

  • 400gr vegan minced meat

  • 1 cup granola (I used the Naturally granola signature)

  • 1 vegan egg (I use Bob's red mill vegan egg replacer)

  • 2 tbsp water

  • 1 (red) onion

  • 3 cloves garlic

  • salt/pepper

Fore the Marinara sauce:

  • 800gr tomato sauce

  • 1,5tbsp tomato puree

  • 3 cloves garlic

  • capers

  • green olives

  • sundried tomatoes

  • basil

  • chili flakes

  • salt/pepper

Blend the granola so the granola is basically as big as breadcrumbs. Finely chop the onion and garlic. Make the vegan egg, and let it rest for a few minutes. Meanwhile mix all the other ingredients together in a bowl, add the egg and knead everything together. Roll some balls, I made sixteen. Heat some oil in the pan and bake the meatballs in there, add some warm water and close off with a lit. Keep on checking and turn them a bit, when the water dissolves too fast add a little more warm water so they're slightly under water.


Heat a pan again with some olive oil, chop the garlic and sauté it for a little, then add the rest of the ingredients and cook until it gets thicker. Cook some pasta as a side dish


When the meatballs are cooked, the pasta is all dente and the marinara sauce is as thick as you like, turn off the fire and start plating! I love to throw some extra olive oil over, add some (vegan) parmesan cheese, pepper, salt and some extra basil, and voila!



140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page